(843) 345-6074

Becoming a Local

New to the community?  The best way to meet new friends is to join an organization, become a member of your neighborhood association, volunteer, start a new career, and/or or learn a new hobby.

The Isle of Palms Recreation Department offers classes year-round ranging from yoga, line dancing, to basketball tournaments.  The Recreation Department also has events and activities for families, seniors, and for all. Please visit their website at:  http://www.iop.net/Departments/Recreation.aspx

In addition, Charleston offers 100s of community programs and is home to 18 institutions of higher education. So why not learn a new language or expand your computer skills?  This is your time to take advantage of the diverse offerings of Charleston.

Isle of Palms COMMUNITY ASSOCIATIONS & ORGANIZATIONS

Isle of Palms Recreation Department  http://www.iop.net/Departments/Recreation.aspx
Isle of Palms Exchange Club  http://www.iopexchange.org/
Isle of Palms Business Council  http://www.charlestonchamber.net/
Ballroom Dance Club of Charleston  http://www.ballroomdanceclub.org
Charleston Area Ladies Tennis Association http://www.caltatennis.net/
Carolina Lady Anglers (Fishing)  http://www.carolinaladyanglers.org/
Charleston Beach Volleyball & Social Club  http://charlestonvolleyball.net/home.html
Charleston Chess Club  http://www.charlestonchess.org/      
Charleston Community Sailing  http://www.charlestoncommunitysailing.org/
Charleston Group of Southern Off-Road Bikers  http://www.clubmtb.com/
Charleston Horticultural Society  http://charlestonhorticulturalsociety.org/
Charleston Metro Sports Council  http://www.www.sportscouncil.org 
Charleston Miracle League http://www.charlestonmiracleleague.org 
Charleston Ocean Racing Association  http://www.charlestonoceanracing.org/
Charleston Pro Tennis League, Inc  http://www.cptltennis.com/
Charleston Rugby Football Club  http://www.charlestonrugby.com 
Charleston Running Club  http://www.charlestonrunningclub.com 
Charleston Triathlon Club  http://www.charlestontriathlonclub.com 
Charleston Mens Senior Baseball League  http://www.charlestonmsbl.com/teams/?u=CMSBL&s=baseball&t=c 
Charleston Mens Adult Baseball League http://www.cmabl.com 
Charleston Outlaws Rugby Football Club http://www.charlestonrugby.com/
Coastal Cyclists  http://www.coastalcyclists.com/ 
Executive Womens Golf Association http://www.ewga-savhh.com/home 
IOn Village Walk & Pond Polo Assoc  http://www.ionvillage.com 
Lowcountry Paddlers Canoeing Kayak Club  http://lowcountrypaddlers.net/
Omar Shrine Temple  http://www.omarshrine.com/
Rotary Club of Charleston  http://www.charleston-rotary.org/
Rotary Club of Summerville  http://summerville.rotary-clubs.org/
SC Eastern Surfing Association  http://ssc.surfesa.org/
SC Marine Association  http://www.scmarine.org/
SC Racquetball Association  http://www.scracquetball.org/
SC Wildlife Federation  http://www.scwf.org/

 

COMMUNITY CENTERS

Isle of Palms Recreation Center…843-886-8294
Charleston Jewish Community Center…843-571-6565
Charleston Family YMCA…843-723-6473
YMCA, Charleston…843-571-9622
YMCA, Charleston…843-722-1644
Jewish Community Center…843-571-6565
Christian Family Y…843-723-6473 

VOLUNTEER OR BECOME A MEMBER

Charleston Habitat for Humanity  http://www.charlestonhabitat.org/
East Cooper Habitat for Humanity  http://www.eastcooperhabitat.org/
Historic Charleston Foundation  http://www.historiccharleston.org/involved/volunteer.html
Hospice of Charleston  http://www.hospiceofcharleston.org/volunteer/application.shtml
South Carolina Arts Commission http://www.southcarolinaarts.com/
South Carolina Aquarium http://www.scaquarium.org/volunteer
South Carolina Historical Society  http://www.southcarolinahistoricalsociety.org/

JOB SEARCHING

 

RELIGION

For a current list of the religious institutions in the Charleston area, please visit:    http://www.sciway.net/org/religcharleston.html

UNIVERSITIES AND COLLEGES

Below please find a document outlining the Colleges and Universities in the Charleston area courtesy of the Center for Business Research.

css.php