(843) 345-6074

Entertainment, Shopping, Museums…

 

Every weekend there is a different event taking place in the Charleston area. Below I’ve listed a summary of events and activities for Isle of Palms as well as the Charleston area.

 

Isle of Palms Events:

July: July Fourth Fireworks Show

September:  End of the Season Community Party

October: Halloween Carnival at the Recreation Department

Fall:  IOP Connector Run & Walk for the Child 

December: Annual Tree Lighting (downtown shopping area of Isle of Palms known as "Front Beach" )

February:  Lowcountry Blues Bash

Spring: Easter Egg Hunt at the Isle of Palms Recreation Department

Summer:  Sand Sculpting Contest

 

Throughout the year Isle of Palms residents get together and watch movies on the beach and at the Recreation Center.  So don’t forget to bring your chair or blanket.

 

Other events on the island include:  Annual Island Giant Kayak Race, Taste of the Islands, Triathlon….

 

Annual Festivals & Events–Charleston Area:

Piccolo Spoleto Festival http://www.piccolospoleto.com/
Annual House and Garden Candlelight Tour  http://www.preservationsociety.org
Spoleto Festival http://www.spoletousa.org/

Cooper River Bridge Run  http://www.bridgerun.com
Flowertown Festival http://www.summervilleymca.org/flowertown/
MOJA Festival  http://www.mojafestival.com/
Southeastern Wildlife Exposition http://www.sewe.com/

 

General Entertainment–Charleston Area:

South Carolina Aquarium http://www.scaquarium.org/
Upcoming Charleston Events  http://www.charlestoncvb.com/visitors/events.html

 

Museums–Charleston Area:

Charleston Museum http://www.charlestonmuseum.org/topic.asp?id=1

Patriots Point Naval and Maritime Museum http://www.patriotspoint.org/
Gibbes Museum http://www.gibbesmuseum.org/

 

Performing Arts–Charleston Area:

Charleston Ballet Theater http://www.charlestonballet.com/

Charleston Symphony Orchestra http://www.charlestonsymphony.com/
Charleston Stage http://www.charlestonstage.com/
Footlight Players http://www.footlightplayers.net/

 

Professional Sports–Charleston Area:
Charleston Riverdogs (Minor League Baseball) http://www.riverdogs.com/

Charleston Battery Soccer (in Daniel Island) http://www.charlestonbattery.com/welcome.asp
South Carolina Stingrays Hockey http://www.stingrayshockey.com/
Family Circle Cup Women’s Pro Tennis http://www.familycirclecup.com/

 

College Sports:
The Citadel  http://www.citadelsports.com/

College of Charleston  http://www.cofcsports.com/
Charleston Southern University  http://csusports.athleticsite.com/

 

Shopping:

There are a handful of stores on Isle of Palms including a grocery store (Red & White),  boutique stores, and surfing shops. However Towne Centre (http://www.mtpleasanttownecentre.com/) in Mount Pleasant is only a five minute drive away and offers all the conveniences including a movie theater, Belk department store, GAP, Banana Republic, Barnes & Noble, Ann Taylor Loft….  The Charleston area also offers:

 

Citadel Mall http://www.citadelmall.net/
Northwoods Mall http://www.shopnorthwoodsmall.com/shop/northwoods.nsf/index
Best of Charleston: Favorite Shops of Locals (click on Shops & Wares) http://www.bestofcharleston.net/
Bookstores http://www.insiderpages.com/s/SC/Charleston/BookStores

 

 

css.php